presented by
Search Fill-1
FC Bayern Munich
4 : 2
(0:0 AET)
Borussia Mönchengladbach
Victory over Gladbach

FC Bayern win Telekom Cup

Increase font size Text size

FC Bayern have won the Telekom Cup for the fifth time after 2013, 2014 and twice in 2017. The final against Borussia Mönchengladbach ended goalless after 45 minutes, but the German record champions won 4-2 on penalties and thus celebrated a successful dress rehearsal before the start to the second half of the season at 1899 Hoffenheim on Friday evening.

Head coach Niko Kovac reeled in the changes compared to the semi-final against Fortuna Düsseldorf, with ten amendments to his starting eleven. Renato Sanches was the only player to retain his place, while new signing Alphonso Davies celebrated his debut in a Bayern shirt. Javi Martínez had to pull out at short notice due to slight muscular problems.

From the beginning a lively game developed, with slight advantages for Gladbach, who had the first chances, first for Patrick Herrmann after four minutes and Josip Drmic just four minutes later. At the other end, Sandro Wagner's header from close range in the 15th minute was foiled by Gladbach goalkeeper Moritz Nicolas' brilliant reaction.

As the match progressed, things became more balanced. Gladbach had a promising chance with a Michael Cuisance free-kick in the 27th minute, the Reds with one from Wagner three minutes later and a shot from Wooyeong Jeong in the 36th. In the end, it remained a goalless draw, and again the winner had to be determined via penalties. And here the German record champions showed the better nerves with four converted shots to Borussia's two.

FC Bayern - Borussia Mönchengladbach 0-0 (Bayern win 4-2 on penalties)

  • FC Bayern

    Ulreich - Rafinha, Boateng, Hummels, Lungwitz - Sanches (Goretzka 27), Thiago - Davies, James, Jeong (Zirkzee 39) - Wagner


    Neuer - Mai, Müller

  • Borussia Mönchengladbach

    Nicolas - Beyer, Strobl, Jantschke, Poulsen - Cuisance (Villalba 37) - Herrmann, Benes, Neuhaus (Zakaria 23), Traore (Müsel 23) - Drmic


    Sippel - Kramer

  • Penalty shoot-out

    1-0 James, 1-1 Drmic, 2-1 Thiago, 2-2 Strobl, 3-2 Goretzka, 4-2 Hummels

  • Yellow cards

    Wagner / -