presented by
Squads finalised

Thirteen FCB stars set to contest Euro 2012

Thirteen Bayern men were named in their countries’ preliminary squads for Euro 2012, and all 13 are now confirmed participants at the tournament in Poland and Ukraine from 8 June until 1 July. The deadline for submitting final 23–strong squads to UEFA was Tuesday midday, ten days prior to the tournament, and the lists duly included all the FCB men originally called up by their national teams.

As always, the biggest single contingent will turn out for Germany. Eight Bayern stars – Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Manuel Neuer, Thomas Müller, Holger Badstuber, Mario Gomez, Toni Kroos and Jerome Boateng – were named in coach Joachim Löw’s final party. The men to miss out were Sven Bender, Julian Draxler, Cacau, and fourth-choice keeper Marc-André ter Stegen.

Schweinsteiger nursing injury

The Germans take on Israel in Leipzig this Thursday in their last full-scale warm-up prior to meeting Portugal at the Euro on 9 June. Lahm will play at left-back, Löw announced. “But it's no indication of how we’ll line up against Portugal. We won't decide where we'll finally play him until next week," said the coach, who also strongly hinted that Boateng would face the Israelis at right-back.

Schweinsteiger is currently restricted to an individual training programme due to a bruised calf sustained in the Champions League final, Löw continued. The midfielder is doubtful for Thursday. “If the medical staff have any reservations, I'll never send an unfit player out to play," the coach stated.

Ribéry on form

Elsewhere, Franck Ribéry is patently in sparkling form after single-handedly sparing French blushes in a 3–2 victory over Iceland last Saturday. “I felt good," the winger reported, after levelling the scores at 2–2 with a delicate lob, his first goal for Les Blues since April 2009. “The goal was important for him. If that sparks him into action we'd be very happy," said France boss Laurent Blanc.