presented by
New squad numbers

Götze to wear 19, Kirchhoff takes 15

The Säbener Strasse facility is still quiet for now. The players are on vacation or representing their national teams at the Confederations Cup. However, as of Monday, club headquarters will be alive with activity at the midday press conference and official unveiling of new head coach Pep Guardiola. The former Barcelona boss will take charge of Bayern training for the first time on Wednesday.

The new campaign is already looming on the horizon in other ways too, with the publication of the 2013/14 Bundesliga fixtures on Friday, and the allocation of squad numbers for the coming season at FCB. None of the current players is making a change, so Philipp Lahm remains number 21, Bastian Schweinsteiger keeps the 31 shirt, and Franck Ribéry the 7, for example.

Götze follows Jancker, Kirchhof like Zé

Two of the new players at the club have also been assigned their squad numbers: Jan Kirchhoff will wear the number 15, and Mario Götze the number 19, the shirt the new arrival from Dortmund wears for the German national team. In Munich, Götze is following in the footsteps of Carsten Jancker and Emil Kostadinov, previous wearers of the number 19. And the number 15 also once belonged to a famous name at the club, namely Brazilian ace Zé Roberto.

Mitchell Weiser, who returns to Munich from a six-month loan spell with FC Kaiserslautern, keeps the number 23, once worn by Owen Hargreaves.