presented by
Golden Foot & Hall of Fame

Ribéry & Neuer nominated, Müller & Maier honoured

Will another FCB star soon be leaving his footprint on the Champions Promenade in Monaco? Two Munich men, Franck Ribéry and Manuel Neuer, are on the shortlist of ten nominees for the Golden Foot Award 2014 published on Tuesday.

Fans have until 24 August to visit and cast their votes. The prize will be awarded at a Gala in Monaco on 13 October. As well as Ribéry and Neuer, the nominees are Thierry Henry, Andres Iniesta, Marta Vieira da Silva, Andrea Pirlo, Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney, Thiago Silva and Yaya Touré.

In an elimination vote whittling the original longlist of 30 down to the final ten, Ribéry received the most votes. Arjen Robben just missed out in 11th place.

Five former FCB men - Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Müller, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Lothar Matthäus and Jean-Pierre Papin – have already left footprints in bronze on the Champions Promenade.

Prestigious honour for Müller and Maier

Gerd Müller and Sepp Maier are to be inducted into the Hall of Fame of German sport, the Deutsche Sporthilfe charity foundation confirmed on Tuesday.

The former Bayern stars will be ceremonially honoured at the Golden Sports Pyramid awards event on 16 May. The German Sport Hall of Fame already includes such illustrious names as Max Schmeling, Franz Beckenbauer, Uwe Seeler and Steffi Graf. The total number of sports personalities inducted since the roll of honour was established in 2006 will correspondingly rise to 81.