presented by
'We can be proud'

Neuer and Robben on three-man UEFA shortlist

Increase font size Text size

Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and FC Bayern received a great honour on Thursday when the Munich players were named alongside Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid on UEFA’s three-man shortlist for the 2013/14 Best Player in Europe Award.

“This is wonderful news, for both players but also for everyone at FC Bayern. We can already be proud regardless of the outcome of the vote,” Karl-Heinz Rummenigge told Both Neuer and Robben “more than deserve the award,” the chairman continued. “They’ve been outstanding for Bayern in recent years and left their mark on the World Cup in Brazil.”

UEFA and sports magazine association European Sports Media published a preliminary long list of ten for the consonantal footballer of the year award on 18 July 2014. Philipp Lahm and Thomas Müller appeared on that list but narrowly missed out on the top three. The first round of voting among international reporters saw Müller in fourth place, while Lahm finishined joint fifth with Lionel Messi.

The final winner among Neuer, Robben and Ronaldo will be determined on 28 August at the draw for the Champions League group stage in Monaco. The winner will be decided by journalists from all UEFA member associations using a live voting system. Last year's Best Player in Europe award went to Franck Ribéry, although the Frenchman missed out on the latest top 10.

Ranking on points

4 Thomas Müller (GER, FC Bayern) – 39
5 Philipp Lahm (GER, FC Bayern) - 24
5 Lionel Messi (ARG, Barcelona) - 24
7 James Rodríguez (COL, AS Monaco/Real Madrid) - 16
8 Luis Suárez (URU, Liverpool/ Barcelona) - 13
9 Ángel Di María (ARG, Real Madrid) - 12
10 Diego Costa (ESP, Atlético Madrid/Chelsea) -  8