Rummenigge re-elected ECA chairman

Read article contents
Increase size

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge continues to be the chairman of the European Club Association (ECA). Rummenigge was elected chairman for the fourth time at the General Assembly in Geneva on Tuesday. Rummenigge has been responsible for the representation of the interests of European football clubs since the inception of the ECA in 2008.

"I'm delighted to be elected for another two-year term and re-appointed as chairman," said Rummenigge. "ECA's achievements since its inception in 2008 are remarkable and make all of us very proud. We are a well-respected association and are taken seriously at all levels. With the support of all member clubs, the newly elected Executive Board will face the upcoming challenge to ensure that the clubs' voice continues to be heard."

The ECA board 2015-17:

Chairman: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (FC Bayern Munich)
First vice-chairman: Umberto Gandini (AC Milan)
Second vice-chairman: Pedro López Jiménez (Real Madrid)
Third vice-chairman: Evgeni Giner (CSKA Moscow)

Further members: Edward Woodward (Manchester United), Ivan Gazidis (Arsenal), Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona), Andrea Agnelli (Juventus), Jean-Michel Aulas (Olympique Lyon), Edwin van der Sar (Ajax Amsterdam), Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht), Theodore Giannikos (Olympiacos Piraeus), Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warsaw), Peter Lawwell (Celtic Glasgow), Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki)

In the first session the ECA executive board resolved that Rummenigge and Juventus chairman Andrea Agnelli will also represent the European clubs on the UEFA Executive Committee.

Millions to be donated for refugees

Rummenigge announced a joint seven-digit donation by the European top clubs as a response to the current refugee crisis. Each of the 80 teams in the Champions League and the Europa League will donate one Euro per ticket sold for the first home match. The sum will be donated to a charitable institution. "We expect a sum between two and three million Euros," said Rummenigge, "football too has responsibility."

Annual awards

On the occasion of the General Assembly the ECA recognised four clubs:
European Club of the Year 2015 | FC Barcelona
Best Sporting Progress 2015 | FC Dnipro Dnipropetrowsk
Best Community & Social Responsibility Program 2015 | Arsenal
Best Achievement 2015: Stadium accessibility | FC Levadia Tallinn

Further decisions

  • ECA promoted the transfer of knowledge between the clubs in terms of management, a scheme entitled the ECA Club Management Programme.
  • ECA supports the European Week of Sport from 7 to 13 September 2015, an initiative of the European Commission, calling for more physical activity (#BEACTIVE).

Topics of this article

Share this article