presented by

Bayern secure Euroleague wildcard

Increase font size Text size

FC Bayern Basketball will start their 2015-16 campaign in the Euroleague. The decision was made public after a meeting between the Commercial Assets Executive Board on Monday evening. Additionally, the panel evaluated other things such as their economic growth strategy and the athletic competitiveness of the association. The new changes will be implemented on Wednesday 8th July at the ECA shareholder meeting in Barcelona.

Bayern are not the only team to clinch a wildcard spot in the competition. Strasbourg (France), Kuban Krasnodar (Russia), and Darussafaka Dogus Istanbul also secured a spot in the competition.

“We are still waiting for confirmation by the ECA shareholder meeting but we would already like to say big thank you for showing massive confidence in FC Bayern Basketball,” said FCBB CEO Marko Pesic after the wildcard list was released. “We want do everything to be as competitive as possible and to sell ourselves this season.”

The draw for the group stages will take place on Thursday, 9th July in Barcelona. After a tough 3-2 series loss in the final against Bamberg, FCBB will be making their third consecutive appearance in the Euroleague. After many injuries and a tough preliminary group, the performance last year did not live up to the one during the 2013-14 season where the team secured a Top 16 spot. Over 6,000 fans visited the Audi Dome during the Euroleague campaign.

Starting in October, 24 teams will take part in the competition. The second German team in the tournament is Bamberg who clinched a spot as champions of the BEKO Bundesliga. The group stage draw will have six pots of four teams. Every team will play ten games, with five of those games being at home. The four best teams qualify for the Top 16.

The 24 Euroleague Teams of the 2015/2016 season:

Anadolu Efes Istanbul, Khimki Moscow, Brose Baskets Bamberg, Cedevita Zagreb, Red Star Basketball Belgrade, CSKA Moscow, Darussafaka Dogus Istanbul, Dinamo Sassari (Italy), Armani Milan, FC Barcelona, FC Bayern Basketball, Fenerbahce Istanbul, Laboral Kutxa Vitoria (Spain), Limoges CSP, Kuban Krasnodar, Maccabi Tel Aviv, Olympiakos, Panathinaikos Athens, Karsiyaka Izmir, Real Madrid, Zielona Gora, Strasbourg IG, Unicaja Malaga, Zalgiris Kaunas.