presented by
Tournament preview

Dress rehearsal in Zadar

Increase font size Text size

Before Bayern Basketball begins its Bundesliga title quest on the 2nd October (20:15 CEST) with a home tie against cup winners Oldenburg, Svetislav Pesic’s team has one more pre season obstacle to overcome: On Friday, 25th September (20:00 CEST) in the prestigious 'Dogus Basketball Tournament' in the Croatian port town of Zadar, Bayern will come up against Greek champions Olympiakos Piräus. The second group opponents and hosts KK Zadar will play against Bayern on the Saturday (21:00 CEST). The playoffs and the final will be played on this coming Sunday.
>> FCBB vs. Oldenburg

The first opposition: Olympiakos, with national hero Vassilis Spanoulis in its team, is among the favourites for the Euroleague, and not without reason. Three times they have won the competition, and only lost out to Real Madrid in the final this pre-season. In Daniel Hackett (Milan), Nikola Milutinov (Partizan Belgrad) and Patric Young (Galatasaray) Olympiakos was able to improve its team with high-profile names. Of course, FCBB fans remember the last encounter between these two sides in the Euro-League season 2013/14: In a true basketball thriller in the Audi Dome, Bayern took the lead in the closing seconds (103:105).  

In the second game of the tournament, Bayern comes up against the host team. With a total of six Yugoslavian Championships, and four Croatian ones, Zadar has a successful history to look back on.

In the second tournament group are Fenerbahce and Red Star Belgrade – two Euroleague Group opponents of FCBB – Bayern will begin its European campaign with an away game in Turkey on the 16th October. The other team in the group is Darüssafaka Dogus Istanbul, who has recently appointed the Berlin sporting director Mithat Demirel.

Tournament game schedule in Zadar, Croatia

  • Friday, 25th September, 20:00 CEST: Olympiakos Piräus vs. FCBB
  • Saturday, 26th September, 21:00 CEST: FCBB vs. KK Zadar
  • Sunday, 27th September: Fifth place playoff (16:00 CEST), Fourth place playoff (18:30 CEST), Final (21:00 CEST)