presented by
Road to Berlin

How the teams reached the DFB Cup final

Fourteen-time winners Bayern meet Werder, the second most successful cup team with six triumphs, in the DFB Cup final for the third time overall. Bayern’s journey to Berlin began back on 2 August last year, with a laboured 3-1 victory over minnows Neckarelz in Louis van Gaal’s first match in charge.

FCB then comfortably beat Oberhausen, Frankfurt, and Greuther Fürth, before a thunderous showdown in the semi-finals away to Schalke, where Arjen Robben’s extra-time wonder goal took his side to Berlin. Bayern knocked out two fellow Bundesliga rivals en route to the final, two second division sides, and the amateurs from Neckarelz.

Werder’s slightly easier passage

“It’s not luck that’s taken us to the final, it’s been convincing displays against good teams,” remarked Mario Gomez. “It's been a long road to the final with some tough matches, so you don’t want it to be in vain,” Robben commented.