presented by
Rummenigge’s successor

Hopfner elected to League Association board

Increase font size Text size

Karl Hopfner has been elected to the German League Association board of directors. At the association's general assembly, held in Berlin on Wednesday, FC Bayern executive board vice-chairman Hopfner was elected unopposed to the position by representatives of the 36 German first and second division clubs.

Hopfner succeeds Karl-Heinz Rummenigge in representing Bayern on the League Association board, as the FCB chairman is standing down from the post. The assembly also unanimously confirmed Dr. Reinhard Rauball (Borussia Dortmund) in the position of League Association president for a further three-year term of office.

Apart from Hopfner and Rauball, the League Association board comprises Peter Peters (Schalke 04, senior vice-president), Harald Strutz (Mainz 05, vice-president), Heribert Bruchhagen (Eintracht Frankfurt), Helmut Hack (Greuther Fürth), Ansgar Schwenken (VfL Bochum), and German Football League (DFL) executives Christian Seifert (CEO), Holger Hieronymus (acting match operations director) and Tom Bender (marketing and communications director).