presented by
FIFA Ballon d’Or

Six FCB stars, four trophies, one World Player?

Here’s yet another record in a year already overflowing with best-ever achievements: no fewer than six Bayern players are in the running for the FIFA Ballon d’Or! Bastian Schweinsteiger (German Player of the Year 2013), Thomas Müller, Franck Ribéry (UEFA Best Player in Europe 2013), Philipp Lahm, Manuel Neuer and Arjen Robben are all on the 23-name FIFA shortlist for the World Player of the Year award.

Our picture shows the six FCB candidates proudly displaying the trophies collected in a magnificent year for the club: the Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, German championship and DFB Cup. The exceptional collection of silverware has naturally influenced the selection of the potential winners of the world award.

Decision day in January

The list of 23 candidates was compiled by the FIFA Football Committee and French specialist magazine France Football. Since the list was published a few weeks ago, coaches and captains of the world’s national teams and selected journalists from around the globe have cast their votes for the award. Each voter handed his three favourites five, three and one point respectively. The player amassing the most points wins the Ballon d’Or. If there is a tie for first place, the award goes to the player with the most five-point ratings.

The World Player of the Year 2013 will be announced and the award presented, along with the equivalent honours for the Women’s World Player of the Year and the World Coach of the Year, at a FIFA gala in Zurich on 13 January 2014. FIFA will reveal the the final shortlist comprising the names of the three players with the most points on 9 December. The tension continues to mount!