presented by
'Sporting Oscar'

Laureus World Sports Award for FCB

No sooner is the Bundesliga title in the bag than the next honour comes FC Bayern's way. The day after the championship celebrations in Berlin, the reigning FIFA Club World Cup winners picked up the sporting equivalent of an Oscar, the Laureus World Sports Award, in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday night.

FCB topped the Team of the Year category. The other teams nominated were the Brazil national team, Miami Heat (basketball), the All Blacks (New Zealand rugby union national team), the Red Bull Formula 1 team and tennis doubles partners Bob and Mike Bryan.

FC Bayern representative Paul Breitner accepted the trophy from Johan Cruyff. Bayern are the third football club to receive the Laureus award after Barcelona (2012) and Manchester United (2000). “Another great moment for our fantastic club,” declared Breitner.

600 VIP guests

The five titles in  2013 (FIFA Club World Cup, Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, Bundesliga, DFB Cup) paved the way to picking up the award. “The biggest challenge now is to defend the Champions League title,” said Breitner in his acceptance speech, “nobody has done that yet. Pep Guardiola is the coach who can make it possible for us.”

Breitner also succeeded in getting a laugh from the 600 VIP guests. “I'm proud to be able to take the sports Oscar back to Munich,” said the FCB ambassador before adding: “Strangely, Hollywood refused to recognise my two-minute appearance in Potato Fritz.”

The Laureus World Sports Awards were launched in 2000. The nominations in the various categories are made by international journalists and the winners are selected in a secret ballot held by the members of the Laureus World Sports Academy. This illustrious body is made up of sporting greats from across the globe including Franz Beckenbauer, Bobby Charlton, Boris Becker, Katarina Witt, Mika Häkkinen and Edwin Moses.

2014 winners:

World Team of the Year: FC Bayern Munich (GER)

Sportsman of the Year: Sebastian Vettel (Formula 1, GER)

Sportswoman of the Year: Missy Franklin (swimming, USA)

Comeback of the Year: Rafael Nadal (tennis, ESP)

Breakthrough of the Year: Marc Márquez (motor cycling, ESP)

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Marie Bochet (skiing, FRA)

World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Jamie Bestwick (BMX, GBR)

Sport for Good Award: Magic Bus (Indian non-profit organisation)

Spirit of Sport Award: Afghan national cricket team