presented by
August date with Bayern

MLS announces All-Stars squad

Increase font size Text size

The final home squad for the MLS All-Stars’ meeting with FC Bayern on 6 August in Portland, Oregon was announced by the league Sunday. The MLS revealed the 12 additional players completing the All-Star squad, complementing the 11 already nominated in a fan poll.

All-Star and Portland Timbers coach Caleb Porter (pictured), and MLS Commissioner Don Garber brought the squad numbers up to 23 by naming the likes of former Premier League pros Jermain Defoe, Robbie Keane and Tim Cahill. The biggest names in the MLS All-Star team are ex-Arsenal and France striker Thierry Henry, former FCB man Landon Donovan and USA national team captain Clint Dempsey.

MLS All-Stars squad:

Goalkeepers: Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Bill Hamid (D.C. United)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfield: Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders FC), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC), Erick Torres (Chivas USA), Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls)
(Fan nominations in bold)