presented by
News in brief

Highest sporting honour for Lahm & Co

Increase font size Text size

Germany’s World Cup winners including the six Bayern players Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Manuel Neuer, Jérôme Boateng, Thomas Müller and Mario Götze have received the Silver Laurel Leaf, the country’s highest award for achievement in the world of sport, from Federal President Joachim Gauck. “You can’t do better than becoming world champions,” Gauck said at the ceremony at Schloss Bellevue in Berlin on Monday. The German FA (DFB) delegation was headed by association president Wolfgang Niersbach, national coach Joachim Löw and Philipp Lahm. The FC Bayern captain retired fro international football following Germany’s victory over Argentina in the World Cup final in Rio on 13 July. Lahm and Co are the guests of honour at the premiere of World Cup movie “Die Mannschaft” (The Team) in the evening.