Bayern quartet in Team of the Year

Read article contents
Increase size

Philipp Lahm, Manuel Neuer, Arjen Robben and David Alaba have been voted into the Team of the Year by users of the European governing body's website. Like last year, FC Bayern are the best represented club in the line-up with four players. Champions League winners Real Madrid provide three team members, including Toni Kroos -- who spent the first half of 2014 with FCB. The total number of votes cast came to 8.6 million. Team of the Year: Neuer - Lahm, Godin, Ramos, Alaba - Robben, Kroos, di Maria - Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic, Messi.

Neuer deserves Ballon d'Or, says Sammer

FCB sporting director Matthias Sammer strongly believes Manuel Neuer should be named the World Player of the Year. "Is the goalkeeper part of a team or not? If he is there can only be one winner, and it's him," Sammer declared on Friday prior to the squad's departure for the Doha training camp. "If it can't be him right now, as a World Cup winner and after his performances at the tournament, I don't know when it can be." Neuer will temporarily leave the Qatar training base to attend the Ballon D'Or Gala in Zurich on Monday.

Topics of this article

Share this article