Rummenigge elected to Hall of Fame

Read article contents
Increase size

A great accolade for Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: the FC Bayern chairman is the fourth German to be inducted into the international football Hall of Fame. A 55-strong jury elected Rummenigge in the poll conducted in Pachuca, Mexico.

So far the three Bayern legends Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Müller and Lothar Matthäus have entered the Hall of Fame. The official ceremony takes place in Pachuca on 8 November.

The hall supervised by FIFA was inaugurated in 2011. The world champions Beckenbauer, Müller and Matthäus were inducted in the first year of its existence.

Rummenigge, who is 60 years old, joins the likes of Pelé, Diego Armando Maradona and the recently deceased Johan Cruyff. Besides Rummenigge, who won the 1980 European championship, Zico and Ronaldo from Brazil and Paolo Rossi from Italy will be honoured in November.


Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news