4ever! FCB celebrate historic triumph

Read article contents
Increase size

For months now Bayern have literally had their eyes on a remarkable target, summed up in the slogan '4ever'! This season's motto has been posted in several places in the performance centre, for example, and stands for a fourth German championship in a row. On Saturday FC Bayern became the first team ever to achieve the feat. The 2-1 victory away to FC Ingolstadt, a 27th win in 33 matches this term, secured the 2015/16 crown.

'4ever' was emblazoned in large letters on the players' championship T-shirts as they celebrated with their fans at the Audi Sportpark in Ingolstadt after the match. Thomas Müller led the chants, but there were no traditional beer showers as they will be reserved for the trophy presentation at the Allianz Arena next weekend.

The historic four titles in a row

2013: On Matchday 28 Bastian Schweinsteiger sealed the title for his team with a back-heeled finish. A 1-0 win away to Eintracht Frankfurt earned the crown at an earlier point in the season than ever before. 2014: Bayern beat their own new record: a 3-1 win in Berlin saw Munich crowned champions on Matchday 27, making FC Bayern the Bundesliga's first-ever champions in March. 2015: FCB claimed the title 'on the sofa', winning 1-0 away to Hertha BSC on Matchday 30 before sole remaining rivals Wolfsburg lost to Gladbach the next day, handing Munich the third-quickest title triumph in Bundesliga history (equal to 1972/73 and 2002/03). 2016: On the second-to-last day Robert Lewandowski's brace in Ingolstadt earns the victory and seals the historic fourth title on the bounce.

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news