Kimmich in Germany squad for EURO 2016

Read article contents
Increase size

Five Bayern stars have made it into the Germany squad for Euro 2016 in France. Manuel Neuer, Jérôme Boateng, Thomas Müller, Mario Götze and Joshua Kimmich are in the 23-strong final squad, head coach Joachim Löw announced at a press conference in the team's Ascona training base on Tuesday lunchtime. Bayer Leverkusen players Julian Brandt and Karim Bellarabi, Hoffenheim's Sebastian Rudy and Borussia Dortmund's Marco Reus, who is recovering from injury, will not join the squad in France. Former FCB pro Bastian Schweinsteiger and Mats Hummels, who is to join the Reds, are in the final squad to contest the EURO 2016 even though they are not yet fit.

Lewandowski captains Poland, Coman hoping

Poland head coach Adam Nawalka announced his final squad on Monday. As expected Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski will take on Germany in the group phase as Poland captain. David Alaba from Austria and Spain's Thiago are likely to travel to France, as is Les Bleus' Kingsley Coman after a strong display in the 3-2 victory over Cameroon on Monday. FCB signing Renato Sanches also hopes to join his Portuguese compatriots in France. The final squads will be announced in the course of the day.


Related news