Advantage Lewandowski in top scorer race

Read article contents
Increase size

Robert Lewandowski is poised to win the famous cannon-shaped trophy awarded every year to the Bundesliga’s top scorer. The striker scored both Bayern goals in Saturday’s 2-1 victory away to Ingolstadt and is now up to 29 league goals in the 2015/16 campaign, four ahead of second-placed Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Dortmund with only one game to go. “I hope I can do it,” the Poland captain declared. Lewy previously won the coveted trophy in 2013/14 with a total of 20 goals. Thomas Müller is currently third in this term’s ranking on 20 goals.

All-clear for Alonso

Xabi Alonso was absent from the initial championship celebrations after the final whistle in Ingolstadt. The Spaniard was substituted at half-time after crumpling to the turf following an aerial collision with FCI’s Mathew Leckie and was immediately taken to a local hospital. Fortunately, the 34-year-old suffered nothing worse than painful bruising to the ribs.