Neuer and Lewandowski nominated for Best Player award

Read article contents
Increase size

Good news for the German record champions! Five FCB pros and one former Bavarian have made the lists for The Best FIFA Football Awards. The best players and coaches will be announced in January 2017.

FIFA announced the 23-strong list for the Best Player 2016 poll on Friday. Manuel Neuer and Robert Lewandowski are among the candidates, as are holder and five-time World Player of the Year Lionel Messi and three-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo.

The lists for the other The Best Awards were announced in the last few days and feature several Bavarians: Pep Guardiola, who coached FCB until the end of last season, is one of the candidates for the Best Coach award. Thomas Wörle has made the list for the Best Women's Coach award. Melanie Behringer and Sara Däbritz are up for the Best Women's Player award.

Besides the captains and head coaches of national teams and selected sports journalists, fans will participate in the poll for the first time. The poll will be conducted from 4 to 22 November with each group of voters weighted at 25 percent. FIFA will announce the shortlists of the three nominees with the most votes in each category on 2 December. The winners will be honoured at a ceremony in Zurich on 9 January 2017.

The nominations at a glance:

The Best FIFA Men's PlayerThe Best FIFA Men's Coach

Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)
Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United)
Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona)
N’Golo Kanté (Leicester City/Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern)
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)
Luka Modrić (Real Madrid)
Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern)
Neymar (FC Barcelona)
Mesut Özil (Arsenal)
Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)
Paul Pogba (Juventus/Manchester United)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Alexis Sánchez (Arsenal)
Luis Suárez (FC Barcelona)
Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

Chris Coleman (Wales)
Didier Deschamps (France)
Pep Guardiola (FC Bayern/Manchester City)
Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool FC)
Luis Enrique (FC Barcelona)
Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur)
Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City)
Fernando Santos (Portugal)
Diego Simeone (Atlético Madrid)
Zinédine Zidane (Real Madrid)









The Best FIFA Women's PlayerThe Best FIFA Women's Coach

Camille Abily (Olympique Lyon)
Melanie Behringer (FC Bayern)
Sara Däbritz (FC Bayern)
Amandine Henry (Portland Thorns)
Saki Kumagai (Olympique Lyon)
Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash)
Dzsenifer Marozsan (FFC Frankfurt/Olympique Lyon)
Marta (FC Rosengård)
Lotta Schelin (Olympique Lyon/FC Rosengård)
Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns)

Philippe Bergeroo (France)
Jill Ellis (USA)
John Herdman (Canada)
Silvia Neid (Germany)
Vera Pauw (South Africa)
Gérard Prêcheur (Olympique Lyon)
Pia Sundhage (Sweden)
Oswaldo Vadão (Brazil)
Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Switzerland)
Thomas Wörle (FC Bayern)


Related news