Factfile: FCB contest Telekom Cup

Read article contents
Increase size

One week before the Bundesliga restart away to SC Freiburg, FC Bayern contest the Telekom Cup on 14 January. Besides the German record champions, Fortuna Düsseldorf, FSV Mainz and Borussia Mönchengladbach will compete for the first trophy of the new year. has delved into the facts and figures for the dress rehearsal before the second half of the campaign.

Record winners

FC Bayern are the only club to have contested all seven previous editions of the Telekom Cup. The Munich men have won the tournament twice, in 2013 and in 2014, topping the all-time rankings along with Hamburger SV. Another title would make FC Bayern sole record holders. The first hurdle for Carlo Ancelotti's troops will be hosts Fortuna Düsseldorf, who contest the Telekom Cup for the first time.

Top striker from Munich

Robert Lewandowski is the all-time top striker of the tournament, boasting five goals. The Pole is ahead of former FCB pro Toni Kroos and former Hamburg player Heung-Min Son, who scored three times each. Besides Lewandowski, Thomas Müller and Franck Ribéry are the only players competing in this year's edition to have scored more than once (two goals each).

Winter premiere

The eighth edition of the annual tournament marks the first time the Telekom Cup takes place during the winter preparation period. In the last few years it was staged in the summer and billed as "the first trophy of the season." The tournament staged one week before the Bundesliga restart is a crucial dress rehearsal for the clubs who play two top-notch matches against Bundesliga sides.

Dramatic games guaranteed

Each match consists of one 45-minute period with a penalty shootout to determine the winner in the event of a draw. Excitement and dramatic games are guaranteed for the crowd!

Related news