Mia5Mia! FCB seal historic crown

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern have once again achieved superlatives! After winning four championship titles in a row from 2013 to 2016, the Bavarians extended their record. Saturday evening's 6-0 win over VfL Wolfsburg meant the Reds wrapped up the championship shield for the fifth time on the bounce.

After the final whistle Carlo Ancelotti's men wore T-shirts with the motto "Mia 5an Mia" to celebrate with the away faithful. "The championship is the most honest title. We've secured the title for the fifth consecutive time, that's extraordinary and incredible. We've had a good season, and we absolutely deserved to win the title," chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge commented after the match.

Looking back: five titles in a row

2013: On Matchday 28 Bastian Schweinsteiger sealed the title for his team with a back-heeled finish. A 1-0 win away to Eintracht Frankfurt earned the crown at an earlier point in the season than ever before.

2014: Bayern beat their own new record: a 3-1 win in Berlin saw Munich crowned champions on Matchday 27, making FC Bayern the Bundesliga’s first-ever champions in March.

2015: FCB claimed the title ‘on the sofa’, winning 1-0 away to Hertha BSC on Matchday 30 before sole remaining rivals Wolfsburg lost to Gladbach the next day, handing Munich the third-quickest title triumph in Bundesliga history (equal to 1972/73 and 2002/03).

2016: On the second-to-last day Robert Lewandowski’s brace in Ingolstadt earned the victory and sealed the historic fourth title on the bounce.

2017: After pursuers RB Leipzig were held to a goalless draw by Ingolstadt in the afternoon FCB downed Wolfsburg 6-0 on Saturday evening, wrapping up the Bundesliga crown on Matchday 31, their fifth consecutive championship title.

Related news