Bayern's title-winning season in numbers

Read article contents
Increase size

Five Bundesliga titles in a row – no team has ever achieved that before! And FC Bayern have once again set even more seasonal bests during this latest German top-flight campaign. has dug out some of the most noteworthy facts and figures surrounding this 27th German title.

Team records

0 – For the first time in nine years, FCB ended a Bundesliga campaign without defeat at home. The Reds’ record at the Allianz Arena was 13 wins and four draws, scoring 55 and conceding just nine. The record champions last went unbeaten at home under Ottmar Hitzfeld in 2007/08 (W12, D5).

0 – Bayern also kept a clean sheet in terms of sendings-off this season. They last managed that back ten years ago back in 2006/07.

5 – FC Bayern are the first club to secure five German titles in a row (2013-2017) and are extending their own record. The previous best for any Bundesliga club was three championships in a row.

6 – FCB secured the unofficial title of Herbstmeister (autumn champions) for the sixth season in a row to extend their own record. It was the 21st Herbstmeisterschaft in total – on only three occasions have the Reds not gone on to win the title at the end of the season.

11 – Bayern Munich have become experts in late goals this season. The Bavarians scored eleven times in the 90th minute or later to set a new Bundesliga record.

15 – FC Bayern secured the title with a 15-point lead over RB Leipzig. The gap between first and second has only been bigger on four occasions, with FCB being crowned champions on each occasion.

52 – Since detailed data collection began in 2004/05, no Bundesliga match had recorded more than 50 efforts on goal until the season finale between Bayern and Freiburg. There were 52 shots on goal between the record champions (33) and the Breisgau club (19).

82 – The Reds’ points total for this season is the fourth-best in Bundesliga history. Only Bayern themselves can top that haul (2012/13: 91, 2013/14: 90 and 2015/16: 88).

89 – FCB had by far the best attack in the league this term. The Bavarians found the back of the net 89 times, split between 16 different goalscorers. The Munich club have only had more different goalscorers twice in their history (17 in 1999/2000 and 2012/13).

Individual records

1 – Carlo Ancelotti is the first coach to take charge of a club in all five of Europe’s top leagues. The 57-year old is also the first coach to win the league in four of these five countries. The Italian was already a champion with PSG (2012/13), Chelsea (2009/10) and AC Milan (2003/04) before Bayern.

5 – Philipp Lahm lifted the Bundesliga Meisterschale aloft on the final matchday for the fifth time as captain – equalling a Bundesliga record. Only former FCB captain Klaus Augenthaler can match this record.

5 – Javi Martinez is a German champion for the fifth season in a row. No other player has played that many campaigns in the Bundesliga and won them all.

6 and 7 – Arturo Vidal and Douglas Costa also add to their title hauls. Vidal is a domestic champion for the sixth season in a row (4x with Juventus, 2x with FCB), whilst Costa even brings one more with him. the Brazilian was a five-time Ukrainian champion with Shakhtar Donetsk and now has two more with Bayern.

7 – The number worn by Franck Ribery and the number of Bundesliga titles the Frenchman has accumulated since his move to Bayern in 2007. That makes Ribery the most successful non-German in Bundesliga history.

8 – The 2017 championship was Philipp Lahm’s eighth and draws him level with record holders Oliver Kahn, Mehmet Scholl and Bastian Schweinsteiger.

10 – Arjen Robben’s shirt number matches his title haul. The Dutchman’s six Bundesliga titles are accompanied by two from England and one each from Spain and his homeland. No other Bayern player has as many championship honours as Robben.

11 – Goalscorer Robert Lewandowski scored two goals or more on eleven occasions this season – the second-best in Bundesliga history. Only Gerd Müller managed more in 1971/72 (12).

20 – Kingsley Coman already has five league titles in three different countries – and he’s still only 20 years old! Coman became champion with Juventus (2015) and PSG (2013, 2014) before also winning with Bayern.

21 – The number of trophies Philipp Lahm has amassed during his time with FCB. Only one player has won more in Bayern colours: Oliver Kahn (23). Schweinsteiger and Scholl also won 21 with the record champions.

24 – David Alaba’s age, yet the Austrian already has six Bundesliga titles with FC Bayern. No other player in the league’s history has had that many titles at the same age.

30 – Robert Lewandowski ended the season on 30 goals to become only the second player in Bundesliga history to score 30 goals or more in two consecutive campaigns. Only the legendary Gerd Müller has previously achieved that (1968/69-1969/70 and 1971/72-1972/73).

50 – Joshua Kimmich made his 50th Bundesliga appearance in the final game of the season against Freiburg. The 22-year-old is the first player in the league’s history to lose just one of his first 50 matches (W41, D8).

250 – Philipp Lahm ends his career with a round 250 wins in the Bundesliga, putting him third on the all-time list. Only Oliver Kahn (310) and Manfred Kaltz (291) have left the pitch victorious more times than Lahm.

Related news