FCB's possible group stage opponents

Read article contents
Increase size

Do you hear that? It’s getting closer and closer. That’s right, it’s the Champions League anthem. The teams are in the starting blocks for the 2017/18 campaign and this evening that will become even more tangible when the group stage draw is made at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco. FC Bayern will then find out exactly who they’re to face. As German champions, FCB are one of eight teams in Pot 1.

The remaining unseeded teams are then placed in the other three pots according to their UEFA coefficient, which is based on their performances over the last five seasons. There are plenty of big names in Pot 2. Spanish giants Barcelona and Atletico Madrid are possible opponents, whilst there could be a reunion with former Bayern coach Pep Guardiola and his Manchester City side, as well as their city rivals Manchester United, who Bayern famously met in the 1999 final.

There are a number of household European names in Pot 3. For example, Bayern fans could look forward to a trip to the Eternal City to face Roma at the Stadio Olimpico or Liverpool’s Anfield. There is also the allure of ties with Turkish champions Besiktas or Belgium’s Anderlecht.

Pot 4 is usually home to sides considered outsiders but there are once again some famous names. Top of that list are likely Scottish champions Celtic or Sporting Lisbon. Carlo Ancelotti’s side could also be drawn against Dutch champions Feyenoord.

Each group will have one team from each pot with 32 teams involved all together. Clubs from the same national association cannot be drawn together, which rules out any meetings with RB Leipzig (Pot 4) or Borussia Dortmund (Pot 2) at this stage. The first matches of the group stage begin on 12/13 September, with the final at Kiev’s Olympic Stadium on 26 May 2018.

Draw overview

Pot 1Pot 2Pot 3Pot 4
Real MadridFC BarcelonaNapoliCSKA Moscow
FC BayernAtletico MadridBaselQarabag
JuventusParis Saint-GermainTottenham HotspurApoel Nicosia
Benfica Borussia DortmundLiverpoolSporting Lisbon
Chelsea SevillaOlympiacos Feyenoord 
Shakhtar DonetskManchester CityRomaMaribor
AS MonacoPortoBesiktasRB Leipzig
Spartak MoscowManchester UnitedAnderlechtCeltic


Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news