Neuer nominated for keeper of the year

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern will be without Manuel Neuer until the end of the year, but despite the injury his achievements so far in 2017 are worthy of recognition. The captain of the record champions is one of three finalists in the vote for goalkeeper of the year, announced by FIFA on Friday.

Alongside Neuer, Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus) and Kaylor Navas (Real Madrid) have also been nominated.  Neuer has already been selected as world's best keeper by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) for the past four years. This year the vote will be taken by FIFA for the first time.

The winner will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards Show in London on 23 October 2017, as well as the footballer of the year.  There was no surprise at the nominations for this award. Four-time winner Christiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) and five-time winner Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona) are the favourites. The third nomination is Brazilian Neymar (FC Barcelona, Paris Saint-Germain).

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news