Neighbourhood and Bayern duels in EURO qualifiers

Read article contents
Increase size

The EURO 2020 is approaching, and on Sunday lunchtime FC Bayern's internationals learned which teams they will encounter in the qualifiers. Germany with captain Manuel Neuer take on their Dutch neighbours just like in the Nations League. Robert Lewandowski's Poland cross swords with David Alaba's Austria in Group G. Thiago and Spain mainly face teams from northern Europe, world champions France with Corentin Tolisso taking on Turkey. European champions Portugal with Renato Sanches encounter Ukraine. The draw was staged in Dublin.

The teams battle it out for tickets to the EURO in a total of ten groups (five groups with six teams, five groups with five teams). The two best teams of a group qualify for the tournament, so 20 of the 24 participating nations will be set by the end of November 2019. The Nations League group winners will battle it out for the remaining four spots in the play-offs in March 2020.

Qualifying will start in the international break from 21 to 26 March before appointments in June, September, October and November. The EURO group draw will be staged on 1 December 2019. A total of 12 countries will host the EURO from 12 June to 12 July 2020 to mark the 60th anniversary of the tournament. Munich's Allianz Arena will be the only German venue, with three group matches and one quarter-final match. London's Wembley will be the venue for the final.

The Bayern pros' groups at a glance

SerbiaNorthern IrelandNorwayIsraelTurkey
LuxembourgBelarusFaroe IslandsMacedoniaMoldova
Related news