Who will Bayern face next in the UCL?

Read article contents
Increase size

Europe's top clubs will be focused on the UEFA HQ in Nyon, Switzerland on Monday for the Champions League Round of 16 draw (from 12 noon available on FC Bayern TV LIVE). Following the final group matches on Wednesday night, all 16 participants in the knockout rounds have been decided. And, as in previous years, this season also promises attractive and thrilling encounters.

For FC Bayern, winners of Group E and for the eleventh time in succession through to the Round of 16, six of the group runners-up are possible opponents. Teams cannot play clubs from their own country or the runners-up in their own group. That means Bayern's group opponents Ajax and FC Schalke 04 (runners-up in Group D) are ruled out as possible opponents.

Along with last year's finalists Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester United are three potential opponents from the Premier League. In Group C, Liverpool went through to the last sixteen second to Paris St Germain and ahead of Napoli. Tottenham finished second in Group B behind Barcelona and Manchester United trailed Juventus in Group H.

Atlético Madrid are once again possible opponents for FC Bayern. The Colchoneros were pushed out of top spot in Group A by Borussia Dortmund on the final matchday. Serie A club AS Roma go through to the knockout rounds as runners-up to holders Real Madrid. The field for the knockout stages is completed by Lyon, who finished second behind Group F winners Manchester City.

The group winners play the first leg away and then the crucial Round of 16 second leg at home. The first games will be played on 12/13 or 19/20 February and the return matches on 5/6 or 12/13 March. The final will be played on 1 June at Atlético Madrid's stadium the Wanda Metropolitano.

Champions League Round of 16 participants:

Group winners:
Borussia Dortmund, Barcelona, Paris Saint-Germain, FC Porto, FC Bayern, Manchester City, Real Madrid, Juventus

Group runners-up:
Atlético Madrid, Tottenham Hotspur, Liverpool, FC Schalke 04, Ajax, Lyon, AS Roma, Manchester United

Related news