German Hall of Fame opened

Read article contents
Increase size

The greatest legends of German football attended the official opening ceremony of the German Football Museum's Hall of Fame on Monday evening. Needless to say, a number of former FC Bayern players were involved. Hall of Fame founding members Franz Beckenbauer, Sepp Maier, Paul Breitner, Lothar Matthäus and Andreas Brehme were present. Only the ill Gerd Müller missed the event.

The best Germany internationals from the last decades have found a permanent home in the museum, which was inaugurated in 2015. Besides the six Bavarians, Uwe Seeler, Günter Netzer, Matthias Sammer, Fritz Walter and Helmut Rahn complete the XI "coached" by Sepp Herberger. Four to five players will join the club every year. Only players and coaches whose career ended at least five years ago are eligible. The Hall of Fame, which is open to visitors from Tuesday, is part of a permanent exhibition at the German Football Museum.

Beckenbauer, Maier, Breitner, Matthäus and Müller have been part of the FC Bayern Hall of Fame at the Erlebniswelt for years.

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news