Fourth top scorer trophy for Lewandowski

Read article contents
Increase size

Robert Lewandowski has won the Bundesliga top scorer trophy for the fouth time. He scored 22 goals, four more than Dortmund's Paco Alcacer, to clinch the award after 2013/14 (20 goals), 2015/16 (30) and 2017/18 (29). Lewandowski was presented with the coveted, cannon-shaped trophy awarded to the top scorer by respected weekly journal kicker.

"It would be ideal if we won the championship title and I sealed the top scorer trophy. Two trophies together would be perfect," Lewandowski had said in the build-up to the finale. His fourth title means the Poland captain overtakes FCB chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Ulf Kirsten (three trophies each). Only Gerd Müller boasts more, having finished top scorer seven times.

"It's a great honour for me to be second to this great legend. He's won it seven times, I'm a bit behind," added the 30-year-old. Lewandowski has scored 202 goals in 289 Bundesliga matches, lying fifth in the all-time Bundesliga scorer rankings behind Manfred Burgsmüller (217), Jupp Heynckes (220), Klaus Fischer (268) and Müller (365).

Lewandowski has scored 128 of these goals wearing Bayern colours, lying third in the club's all-time rankings. Only Der Bomber (365) and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (162) have scored more goals for FC Bayern.

In March Lewandowski had claimed top spot in the Bundesliga's all-time non-German scorer rankings, surpassing Claudio Pizarro, who has 196 goals under his belt. Lewandowski's fourth trophy will take up residence beside the other three cannons, and the striker has no intention of easing off: "I'll always find space for another trophy!"

Related news