When seven FCB players won the World Cup

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern have two new world champion additions in Lucas Hernández and Benjamin Pavard, who last summer won the FIFA World Cup in Russia alongside current FCB colleague Corentin Tolisso. However, the French trio aren’t the only world champions in this Bayern squad. Javi Martinez previously lifted the trophy with Spain in 2010 before Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng and Thomas Müller won football’s greatest honour in 2014. 

And for that German contingent, this Saturday, 13 July marks five years since they beat Argentina 1-0 in extra-time to secure the nation’s fourth World Cup title. There were six FCB players in the Germany starting line-up that day at Rio de Janeiro’s Maracana with Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Müller, Boateng and Neuer. Mario Götze, who netted the winner in 2014, was also a Bayern player at the time.

Related news