How Bayern became champions in the past eight seasons

Read article contents
Increase size

Joshua Kimmich's fine chip in the1-0 win against Dortmund all but guaranteed the 2019/20 Bundesliga title would remain in Munich. Bayern went seven points clear of Borussia and finally sealed the deal against Werder Bremen. It was Robert Lewandowski's goal that gave FCB a 30th German Championship in the club's 120-year history and the eighth in succession. We look back on the title-winnng goals from the past seven years.

2019: First title sealed at the Allianz Arena


On the final day of the 2018/19 season, Bayern needed at least a point against Eintracht Frankfurt to defend their title. Kingsley Coman gave Munich the lead in the fourth minute. Sebastien Haller managed to equalise in the 50th minute, but just three minutes later David Alaba put the record champions back on course and Bayern finished with a comprehensive 5-1 victory. It was the first title the Reds had ever secured at the Allianz Arena. As if that wasn't enough, Renato Sanches, Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben all scored in their final home game for FCB. What a day!

2018: Title dance after coronation in Augsburg


Jupp Heynckes had been back at Bayern since October, and Matchday 29 was the zenith of his fourth term in Munich. After a bumpy start and Niklas Süle's own goal in the 18th minute, FCB turned things up a notch. Corentin Tolisso (32'), James Rodriguez (38'), Robben (62') and Sandro Wagner (87') all scored in the 4-1 victory and made sure of celebrations after the final whistle.

2017: Goalfest in Wolfsburg for the title


After chasers RB Leipzig only managed a draw in Ingolstadt in the afternoon, Bayern needed just a point in the evening game in Wolfsburg. Spurred on by the earlier result, the Munich side started full of energy and swept the Wolves aside with a 6-0 thrashing. A fantastic free-kick from David Alaba(19') and a Robert Lewandowskibrace (36', 45') set the pace in the first half. After the break Robben (66'), Thomas Müller(80') and Joshua Kimmich (85') finished off the opponents. It was the third time Bayern had beaten Wolfsburg to secure the title, after 2003 and 2008.

2016: Lewandowski double for the title


If victory can't be sealed in Munich, then at least somewhere nearby. A 2-1 win against promoted Ingolstadton the penultimate matchday of the 2015/16 season gave FCB their fourth title in a row - a first for the Bundesliga. Once again, the Munich side could rely on their top scorer, as Lewandowski made it 1-0 from the penalty spot in the 15th minute and then added a second in the 32nd minute. The title was heading down the road back to the Bavarian capital.

2015: 'Sofa champions' for title hat-trick


Bayern did what they had to do on Matchday 30 and beat Hertha Berlin 1-0at the Allianz Arena. Football God Bastian Schweinsteigerburied the ball in the top right corner after fine buildup play from Mitchell Weiser. Now the Munich team just had to wait for Wolfsburg, who were in action the next day, and they lost 1-0 to Gladbach. Bayern were 15 points clear with four games to go and could no longer be caught. The title hat-trick was wrapped up with feet up on the sofa..

2014: Earliest champions of all time - partying in gloves


Spring had only just sprung on 25 March, but the league title was already in Bayern's grasp. With a 3-1 win at Hertha , FCB secured the title on Matchday 27, which is the earliest it's ever been done. Toni Kroos (6'), Mario Götze (14') and Ribery (79') wrapped things up in the capital to secure a first Bundesliga title for Pep Guardiola.

2013: Schweinsteiger back heel for first piece of the treble

Bayern occupied top spot in the table from the very first matchday of 2012/13. The coronation came on Matchday 28, which at the time was the earliest in history. Jupp Heynckes' team beat Eintracht Frankfurt 1-0 thanks to a dreamy back-heel goal by Schweinsteiger early in the second. It was the first piece of the legendary treble, with the DFB Cup and Champions League to follow.

Take a trip down memory lane with a look back at the trophy presentation ceremonies over the last seven years

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news