Knockout rounds drawn in Nyon

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern's next match in this season's Champions League is the second leg of the interrupted round of 16 tie against Chelsea. The German champions lead 3-0 from the first leg. The competition will this season be completed in a tournament format in Lisbon from mid-August.

The physical draw for the later stages of the competition was made at UEFA headquarters in Nyon by Georgio Marchetti, UEFA director of competitions, and former Juventus and Borussia Dortmund Champions League winner Paolo Sousa, representing the final tournament's host nation Portugal. FC Bayern were represented remotely from Munich by board director Andreas Jung and ambassador Giovane Elber.


Four teams had already qualified for the quarter finals before the competition was suspended:

Atalanta, Atlético Madrid, RB Leipzig, Paris Saint-Germain

Joining them will be the four winners from the remaining round of 16 matches:

FC Bayern – Chelsea (first leg result: 3-0)
Juventus – Lyon (0-1)
Manchester City - Real Madrid (2-1)
Barcelona – Napoli (1-1)

On Thursday, UEFA announced that these matches will be played on 7 and 8 August at the stadiums of the respective home teams. 

In the first leg of the round of 16, FC Bayern beat Chelsea 3-0. Click here to read the match report 👇

Fixture dates:

7-8 August: Round of 16 second leg matches (at stadiums of home teams)
12-15 August: Quarter-finals (Lisbon)
18-19 August: Semi-finals (Lisbon)
23 August: Final (Lisbon)

Kick-off time for all games is 21:00 CEST. UEFA will confirm the exact date of each fixture at a later time. 

The draw:

QF1: Manchester City/Real Madrid - Juventus/Lyon
QF2: RB Leipzig - Atlético Madrid
QF3: Napoli/Barcelona - FC Bayern/Chelsea
QF4: Atalanta - Paris Saint-Germain

SF1: Quarter-final 1 - Quarter-final 3
SF2: Quarter-final 2 - Quarter-final 4

Final: Semi-final 2 - Semi-final 1


The quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final will be played as a straightforward knockout tournament in Lisbon.


The venues for the tournament are Benfica‘s home ground, Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica (also known as Estádio da Luz) – which is also the venue for the final - and local rivals Sporting Lisbon’s Estádio José Alvelade.

Rule adjustments:

Due to the suspension of matches in force since 11 March, UEFA has made the following changes for the rest of the season. Each participating team has the possibility to register three new players. However, this is subject to the condition that these players have already been registered with the respective club since the last registration deadline on 3 February 2020. Consequently, no newly-signed players may be used.

As in the 2019/20 Bundesliga season, five substitutions will be permitted in all remaining matches.


Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news