When seven FCB players won the World Cup

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern have three reigning world champions on their books: Lucas Hernández, Benjamin Pavard, and Corentin Tolisso. However, the French trio aren’t the only World Cup winners in this Bayern squad. Javi Martinez previously lifted the trophy with Spain in 2010 before Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng and Thomas Müller won football’s greatest honour in 2014. 

And for that German contingent, this Monday, 13 July marks six years since they beat Argentina 1-0 in extra time to secure the nation’s fourth World Cup title. There were six FCB players in the Germany starting line-up that day at Rio de Janeiro’s Maracana with Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Müller, Boateng and Neuer. Mario Götze, who netted the winner in 2014, was also a Bayern player at the time.

In the "Looking Back" feature, fcbayern.com regularly presents stories from our photo archives. Click the link below to look back on the story of another special photo: a peeved Jürgen Klinsmann kicking an advertising prop:

Related news