Hainer and Rummenigge congratulate Flick and Lewandowski

Read article contents
Increase size

On the occasion of the awards for Hansi Flick as Coach of the Year and Robert Lewandowski as Footballer of the Year, club president Herbert Hainer and executive executive board chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge would like to congratulate them on behalf of FC Bayern.


Of the head coach, Hainer says: "What Hansi Flick has achieved with his coaching staff and the whole team within a few months is extraordinary - he has more than earned this award as Coach of the Year. Hansi Flick stands for FC Bayern: he'd already celebrated titles here as a player, is deeply rooted in the club, down to earth and obsessed with success. We're certainly going to have a lot more fun together."

Click here for all the info on Hansi Flick's award for Coach of the Year:

Executive board chairman Rummenigge says: "We are very pleased about the awards for Hansi Flick and Robert Lewandowski. They are representative of the team's outstanding performance this season. Hansi Flick has done a terrific job, and within a few months has formed a unit that has ultimately celebrated the second treble in our club's history. In doing so, history has been made."

Hainer says of Lewandowski: "Robert has felt at home at FC Bayern for many years. His qualities as a striker are unparalleled worldwide, and he is also a wonderful example of how players develop at and with FC Bayern. He is one of the most important factors in our success and leads by his exemplary performances in every game. He is a model professional footballer who is a perfect match for FC Bayern and certainly has many more years with plenty of goals ahead of him."


Gold, Silver and Bronze go to FC Bayern

Rummenigge was full of praise: "Robert is in the form of his life and thrills the fans not only with his scoring rate, but also with the way he interprets the game when leading the line. He has continued to develop and sets the benchmark for how strikers should be today. I would also like to congratulate Thomas Müller and Joshua Kimmich on second and third place. Gold, silver and bronze for FC Bayern players. That's unique and terrific." 

Click here for all the info on Robert Lewandowski's award for Footballer of the Year:

Related news