FC Bayern claim earliest Bundesliga title of all time


Title celebrations don't usually take place until May, but FC Bayern didn't want to wait that long in the 2013/14 season. The Munich side secured the title on 25 March 2014 - no other team has succeeded so early in the history of the German top flight. Coach Pep Guardiola's still unbeaten team won 3-1 at Hertha Berlin and gained an insurmountable lead at the top of the table after 27 games. FCB thus beat their own record of 28 matchdays from the previous year.

Dante and Co. had to make do with plastic replicas of the Meisterschale.

Warmly wrapped up celebrations

Temperatures were around freezing point on the Tuesday evening in Berlin's Olympic Stadium. That meant the traditional wheat beer shower for the title did not take place. Some players wore thick jumpers and celebrated with the fans who had travelled. Toni Kroos (6'), Mario Götze (14') and Franck Ribery (79') scored to make sure of the record champions'  first successful title defence since 2006.

This is one of many records Bayern have set in their Bundesliga history: