FC Bayern mourns the passing of Atze Gebhardt

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern Munich is mourning the passing of Wolfgang “Atze” Gebhardt, who has died at the age of 65 in Munich. Gebhardt worked for the German record champions as a physiotherapist in the professional department for more than 20 years from 1986. Together with Fredi Binder and as a team with club doctor Hans-Wilhelm Müller-Wohlfahrt, the trio’s work was pioneering. He was held in the highest esteem by all the players for decades. Among others, current board members Oliver Kahn and Hasan Salihamidzic, as well as head coach Hansi Flick, all relied on Gebhardt’s qualities as players. He was part of the junior team backroom staff from 2007 to 2015.


President Herbert Hainer: “FC Bayern is united in mourning with his wife Regina, their three daughters and the relatives of Atze Gebhardt. A big club like FC Bayern only works with people like Atze, who always give their best away from the limelight so we can celebrate success together. We all, especially our players, know how essential people like Atze are. Atze will always remain an important part of our FC Bayern family.”


CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: “We’ll miss Atze Gebhardt very much. His professional and human qualities made him a particularly important part of this club. We all appreciated his always funny, cheerful manner, and the players always felt in the best hands. Atze is a Bayern bedrock. Personally, I’ll always remember him as an indispensable part of our Monday staff football matches. Without people like Atze, FC Bayern would probably have won one or two titles less in its history.”

Alongside Kahn, Salihamidzic and Flick, Gebhardt also looked after FCB greats such as Lothar Matthäus, Klaus Augenthaler, Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger and Thomas Müller. He worked under head coaches like Udo Lattek, Jupp Heynckes, Franz Beckenbauer, Otto Rehhagel, Giovanni Trapattoni, Ottmar Hitzfeld and Felix Magath. During his time with the first team, Bayern won 11 Bundesliga titles, five DFB Cups, the Champions League, the UEFA Cup and an Intercontinental Cup.

Related news