Sextuple year crowned with Laureus Award


FC Bayern have been recognised as Team of the Year in the Laureus World Sports Awards. The German record champions’ historic achievement of six titles in one year has been honoured by the international sports legends of the Laureus World Sports Academy. It’s the second time FC Bayern have received this award after 2014, with only the French national football team and the South African rugby team previously winning it twice. The awards have been running since 2000.

Herbert Hainer: 'We're very proud'


President Herbert Hainer: "We're very proud to have been recognised with the Laureus Award for Team of the Year. FC Bayern are the only club to have received this honour a second time. In 2020 we celebrated six titles – this award is the seventh trophy of a historic year which we'll never forget."

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: 'The Laureus Award is a great honour for our club'


Chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: "The Laureus Award is a great honour for our club, for which we are thankful. Our team are an inspiration for athletes around the world with their historic sextuple, showing that together you can achieve anything. We take every trophy as motivation to continue giving everything for our fans."

Hansi Flick was also evidently proud of the recognition. As coach, the 56-year-old led FCB to glory in the Bundesliga, DFB Cup, Champions League as well as in the FIFA Club World Cup, UEFA Super Cup and DFL Supercup last year.


Bayern can bag their next title this weekend, and Thomas Müller is fired up: