Robert Lewandowski comes second behind Messi

Read article contents
Increase size

Robert Lewandowski has been voted second in this year's Ballon d'Or. First place went to Lionel Messi of Paris Saint-Germain, who has won the France Football-backed award for the seventh time. "It's an honour to be here with you today. You broke records and you deserved to win the Ballon d'Or. You've had an incredible year," winner Messi said, addressing Lewandowski. The ceremony for the prestigious award took place on Monday evening at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris.

Lewandowski was awarded the Golden Boot as Europe's top goalscorer in the 2020/21 season back in September.

For Lewandowski, it is the fourth time he has been in the top 10 of the world's best footballers, following 2019 (8th), 2017 (9th), 2015 (4th), and now this year - his best ranking to date. The 2020 FIFA World Player of the Year once again showed outstanding performances this year, chasing record after record.

41-goal season

Above all, he set a record that may well never be broken with his 41 goals last Bundesliga season. Lewy has once again replicated last season's form with an outstanding return again this campaign, with 25 goals in 20 competitive games. Lewandowski is by far the most successful goalscorer in Europe's top five leagues this calendar year, with 53 goals in competitive matches.

Lewandowski broke Bayern legend Gerd Müller's 49-year-old record with his 41 goals in the Bundesliga.

The winners of the Ballon d'Or, which has been awarded since 1956, are chosen by international journalists. Between 2010 and 2015, the voting took place under the umbrella of the world governing body FIFA, as a replacement for World Footballer of the Year. France Football has again awarded the Ballon d'Or itself since 2016.

2021's nine best moments from Bayern's No.9:

Related news