Kathleen Krüger awarded Bavarian Order of Merit

Read article contents
Increase size

In recognition of her outstanding service, FC Bayern team manager Kathleen Krüger was awarded the Bavarian Order of Merit by first minister Markus Söder on Monday. For more than ten years, the former FCB Women's player has been closely involved in sporting matters relating to the record champions' professional squad and has become an important pillar of the team. "Kathleen Krüger impressively demonstrates that women have now become indispensable in supposedly male-dominated areas of society. She is thus a true role model," read the citation by the Bavarian State Chancellery. Former FCB boss and current Germany coach Hansi Flick also received the award on Monday.

The Bavarian Order of Merit

The Bavarian Order of Merit has been awarded since June 1957 "as a sign of honourable and grateful recognition for outstanding services to the Free State of Bavaria and the Bavarian people". It is considered the most exclusive award made by the Free State, as according to the provisions of the Order there can only be 2,000 living recipients at any one time. Last year, Manuel Neuer was honoured with the Bavarian Order of Merit. Thomas Müller (2019) and Bastian Schweinsteiger (2018) previously received the award. 

Photo: Bavarian State Chancellery.

Manuel Neuer was awarded the Bavarian Order of Merit last year:

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news