Lewandowski wins European Golden Shoe

Read article contents
Increase size

Robert Lewandowski was once again the best goalscorer in Europe in the 2021/22 season, earning himself the prestigious European Golden Shoe award. The FC Bayern striker was clearly at the top of the ranking with 35 goals in the Bundesliga (70 points) and has defended the crown he won last year. Paris Saint-Germain's Kylian Mbappé came second (56 points), with third place being shared by Ciro Immobile of Lazio and Karim Benzema of Real Madrid (both 54).

Lewandowski claimed the Golden Shoe last year with his 41 Bundesliga goals.

The traditional honour has been awarded since 1968. After a hiatus in the 1990s, European Sports Media has issued the Golden Shoe every year to the most prolific goalscorer from that season. All players who play in the highest division of a UEFA member association are eligible. The ranking also takes into account the strength of the respective league by multiplying the goals by a country factor.

In Lewandowski and Gerd Müller (1969/70 and 1971/72), two Bayern players have won the coveted prize. Former FCB strikers Roy Makaay and Luca Toni also feature in the star-studded list of previous winners, albeit as players from Deportivo La Coruna and Fiorentina respectively.

All the info on FC Bayern's 10th consecutive title is here:

Related news