11 decisive games in Bayern’s 11 consecutive Bundesliga titles

Read article contents
Increase size

We’ve had final-day drama, the earliest title in history and have even won it watching from home over the last 11 years where Bayern have been crowned Bundesliga champions. No team in one of Europe’s top five leagues has ever before been champions 11 season in a row. Starting with the treble title of 2012/13 to the Meisterschale of 2023, each triumph has its own story. fcbayern.com takes you through 11 decisive games on the way to each title. 

2013: First title of treble season


The 2012/13 campaign was historic and the start of a unique run. A great goal from Bastian Schweinsteiger away at Eintracht Frankfurt earned FCB a 1-0 win on Matchday 28 and secured the 23rd championship in the club’s history with games to spare. A remarkable run of 25 matches unbeaten under Jupp Heynckes saw the Reds finish with a record 91 points, 91 goals scored and just 18 conceded – a whole 25 points clear of defending champions Borussia Dortmund.

2014: Earliest title ever


We normally get to celebrate our titles in May, but the record champions didn’t want to wait that long in 2013/14. It was 25 March when FCB took an unassailable lead at the top. Never before has the title in Germany been awarded so early in the year. A 3-1 win at Hertha Berlin thanks to goals from Toni Kroos, Mario Götze and Franck Ribery made it 27 games without defeat (W25, D2) and there was no catching Pep Guardiola’s men. It saw Bayern surpass their own record for winning the league in the fewest games, only set the year before (28 matchdays).

2015: Won watching from home


FCB made it a hat-trick in 2014/15 as the first team since 1989 to wrap up the title without kicking a ball. The telling result came on Matchday 30 after Bayern had won their home game against Hertha 1-0. Second-placed Wolfsburg played the next day and lost by the same score at Borussia Mönchengladbach. Bayern’s crucial goal again came from Fußballgott Schweinsteiger.

2016: Historic four in a row


Bayern had to go all the way to Matchday 33 in 2015/16 to fulfil their dream of finally winning the title four years in a row. A 2-1 victory at Ingolstadt wrapped things up. Never before had a team lifted the Meisterschale four seasons in succession. Robert Lewandowski got both goals to bring Guardiola his third title in as many seasons.

2017: 27th championship


Bayern were officially champions of Germany for the 27th time on 29 April 2017, cruising to a 6-0 win at Wolfsburg with four games to go in 2016/17. David Alaba, a Lewandowski brace, Arjen Robben, Thomas Müller and Joshua Kimmich scored to bring Carlo Ancelotti the Bundesliga title in his debut season. It was the third time FCB had secured the title in Wolfsburg, after 2003 and 2008.

2018: Hit for six


It was a 4-1 win at Augsburg on Matchday 29 of 2017/18 that saw FCB take an insurmountable lead in the table for the sixth season in a row. Corentin Tolisso, James Rodriguez, Robben and Sandro Wagner got on the scoresheet that day as the returning Heynckes guided the club to its 28th championship and 27th of the Bundesliga era.

2019: Down to the wire


It went down to the final day in 2018/19 with Bayern and Dortmund both still in contention. But a 5-1 victory at home to Eintracht Frankfurt gave Niko Kovac and his men a seventh straight Meisterschale. Kingsley Coman, Alaba, Renato Sanches, Ribery and Robben calmed any nerves that things might go awry. It was the perfect farewell for Ribery and Robben on an unforgettable day at the Allianz Arena.

2020: Champi8ns


2020 will go down in history as the greatest year in Bayern’s long and illustrious history. And it all started with the club’s eighth straight Bundesliga title thanks to a 1-0 win away at Werder Bremen – the 30th championship for the trophy room. Lewandowski got the golden goal for Hansi Flick’s team on Matchday 32, this time in June after the COVID-19 pandemic had earlier seen the season suspended. But it was just the beginning as five more trophies followed in the historic sextuple.

2021: 31st championship followed by procession


It was nine in a row in 2021, again without a ball being kicked. Defeat for RB Leipzig in the afternoon meant Bayern were confirmed as champions before taking to the field and thrashing Gladbach 6-0 at the Allianz Arena. A Lewandowski hat-trick, Müller, Coman and Leroy Sane put the gloss on the club’s 31st championship and 30th of the Bundesliga era.

2022: 10 in a row for record champions


And the Reds continued to make history, being crowned champions for the 10th year in a row in 2021/22. No team in Europe’s top five leagues had previously achieved that. And it was a 3-1 victory over arch-rivals Dortmund on Matchday 31 that wrapped things up for Julian Nagelsmann’s team, bringing the club its 32nd championship. Serge Gnabry, Lewandowski and Jamal Musiala saw the Reds over the line in Der Klassiker.

2023: A final-day thriller


It went down to the final seconds of 2022/23 as Bayern and Dortmund battled for the title. BVB were in fact two points ahead coming into the final day of the season, but could only managed a 2-2 draw at home to Mainz, having gone 2-0 down. Bayern took advantage and won a thriller of their own away at Köln, with goals from Coman and Musiala bringing the Meisterschale back to Munich for an 11th straight year.

Read how Bayern snatched the title away at Köln:

Related news