Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Hall of Fame

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge among five Bayern greats inducted

Read article contents
Increase size

Five former Bayern greats have been inducted into the German Football Museum’s Hall of Fame as new footballing legends in Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Philipp Lahm, Miroslav Klose, Jürgen Kohler and Udo Lattek, alongside Bernd Schuster, Horst Eckel and Joachim Streich. Rummenigge, Lahm, Klose and Kohler received their awards in person, while coaching icon Lattek was honoured posthumously, as were Streich and Eckel.

Rummenigge: "I feel very honoured"

“It is a wonderful accolade,” said Rummenigge: "I feel very honoured to have been voted into Germany’s Hall of Fame after being named in Italy’s last year. When you read the names of the members, many memories come flooding back. Franz Beckenbauer, one of my first mentors, with whom I spent decades together at FC Bayern; Gerd Müller, from whom I learnt so much; Paul Breitner, my wonderful partner in the 'Breitnigge' days; and Udo Lattek, my first coach, who had a unique ability to shape a group of outstanding individuals into a great team at FC Bayern." Rummenigge emerged as one of the world's best strikers after joining FC Bayern in 1974.

Miroslav Klose, Bernd Schuster, Philipp Lahm Jürgen Kohler Hall of Fame
Miroslav Klose, Bernd Schuster, Philipp Lahm and Jürgen Kohler (l-r.) at the DFB Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

To be in a squad with such German football legends is "an incredible honour", commented Lahm on the award. "I’m grateful to my teammates, coaches and all those who have contributed to me being able to accept this extraordinary honour." Lahm's achievements include captaining Bayern to the Champions League title in 2013 and leading Germany to World Cup victory in 2014.

Klose was also part of the 2014 World Cup triumph and said: "To now be among these great players and idols myself is fantastic." Former defender Jürgen Kohler also won the World Cup as a Bayern player, 24 years before Lahm and Klose: "For me, being inducted into the Hall of Fame is one of the highest honours you can receive as a sportsman and a wonderful acknowledgement of your achievements at a high level over many years."

Hall of Fame
Rummenigge and Lahm received awards for their induction into the German FA’s Hall of Fame.

The German Football Hall of Fame comprises 47 people from German men's and women's football. The jury is made up of sports editors of the leading football media in Germany.

So far in the Hall of Fame:

Men, 2018 (founding XI): Sepp Maier; Franz Beckenbauer, Paul Breitner, Andreas Brehme; Günter Netzer, Lothar Matthäus, Fritz Walter, Matthias Sammer; Uwe Seeler, Gerd Müller, Helmut Rahn; Sepp Herberger (coach)

Women, 2019 (founding XI): Silke Rottenberg; Steffi Jones, Doris Fitschen, Nia Künzer; Renate Lingor, Silvia Neid, Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, Bettina Wiegmann; Inka Grings, Birgit Prinz, Heidi Mohr; Tina Theune (coach)

Men, 2019Oliver Kahn, Hans-Jürgen Dörner, Wolfgang Overath, Jürgen Klinsmann, Helmut Schön

Men, 2020: Berti Vogts, Michael Ballack, Andreas Möller, Klaus Fischer, Rudi Völler

Men, 2021: Jürgen Kohler, Horst Eckel, Joachim Streich, Miroslav Klose, Udo Lattek

Women, 2022: Nadine Angerer, Ariane Hingst, Anne Trabant-Haarbach, Bärbel Wohlleben, Christa Kleinhans

Men, 2022: Philipp Lahm, Bernd Schuster, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

Find out about Bayern's own Hall of Fame here: