presented by
Search Fill-1
1980 to 1989

Upheaval and change

Increase font size Text size


After a domestic drought lasting five years, general manager Hoeneß and the players Breitner and Rummenigge led FCB back to the path of success. The tabloid press dubbed the feared duo “Breitnigge.” Alongside combative midfield general Breitner, Rummenigge became a celebrated global superstar. The mazy dribbler and goalscorer chalked up 218 goals for Bayern in competitive matches; Breitner himself scored 110. Together, they won two championships and one German Cup.

“We saw the rebirth of Bayern’s great team from the 1970s,” Rummenigge later said.  A Bundesliga championship in 1980 was followed by five more league titles. Bayern Munich moved clear of their rivals with a record number of title triumphs and remained the number one club in German football as a new generation of predominantly Bavarian footballers enthralled the entire country. The championship trophy landed up in Munich again the following year. Hamburg SV, VfB Stuttgart and Kaiserslautern trailed in that order in both campaigns.

A legendary cup final win against FC Nürnberg followed in 1982. After going 2-0 down FC Bayern turned the game round to win 4-2. Dieter Hoeneß, with a bandaged head, scored one of the goals. The European Cup went begging that year when Bayern lost 1-0 to Aston Villa in the final. And Germany lost to Italy in the World Cup final - but Breitner went into record books as being the only German to score in two World Cup finals.

National success under Lattek

Credit where credit’s due: Between 1965 and 1981 Bayern produced eleven Footballers of the Year: Beckenbauer (4), Maier (3), Müller (2), Rummenigge and Breitner (1 each).

Lattek returned to Bayern in 1983. His team beat Borussia Mönchengladbach on penalties in the 1984 DFB Cup final. Lothar Matthäus missed a penalty for the Foals and in the following season he moved south to join FC Bayern. At the same time Kalle Rummenigge, so famous that an English pop group sang a song about his ‘sexy knees’, crossed the Brenner Pass to play for Inter Milan - for the then record transfer fee of 11 million Deutschmarks.

Bayern became champions again a year later with a team featuring Sören Lerby and the young Wiggerl Kögl. Professor Dr. Fritz Scherer took over as club boss. The next double came the year after with another league title in 1987. However, the setback of losing 2-1 to FC Porto in the European Cup final in Vienna represented a major setback for the team.

Jupp Heynckes arrived in 1988. He was tasked with building a new, powerful squad following the departure of Matthäus, Brehme, Eder, Hughes, Michael Rummenigge and Pfaff.