Neuer and Müller make Europe's top ten

Read article contents
Increase size

What an accolade for Manuel Neuer and Thomas Müller! The two Bayern stars have made the shortlist of ten for the European Footballer of the Year award, UEFA announced on Monday.

Neuer and Müller are the only candidates from the Bundesliga. The third German footballer on the list is Real Madrid's Toni Kroos, a former FCB pro. Barcelona's Lionel Messi, who won last year's award, has made the shortlist once again. The other candidates are Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale, Pepe (all Real Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid) and Luis Suarez (FC Barcelona).

Journalists from each of the 55 member associations took part in the poll. The three finalists will be determined until 5 August, the winner will be announced at the Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 25 August.