Nine Bayern players nominated for FIFA World 11

Read article contents
Increase size

Nine FC Bayern players are among the 55 nominees for this year's FIFA FIFPro World 11: Manuel Neuer, Mats Hummels, Philipp Lahm, Jérôme Boateng, Thomas Müller, David Alaba, Xabi Alonso, Arturo Vidal and Robert Lewandowski. World football's governing body announced the initial long list on Thursday.

More than 25,000 players from over 75 different countries submitted their votes for a goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three strikers. The players with the most votes in each position will be awarded a place in the prestigious World 11. The results will be revealed on 9 January 2017 at *The Best FIFA Football Awards*Show in Zürich, when the World Footballer of the Year will also be crowned. Manuel Neuer has been in the team for the last three years.

Related news