Eight Bayern players nominated for FIFA XI

Read article contents
Increase size

Eight FC Bayern players have been honoured with nominations for the 2017 FIFA FIFPro World XI. Manuel Neuer, Mats Hummels, Jérôme Boateng, David Alaba, Thiago, Arturo Vidal, Robert Lewandowski and now-retired former captain Philipp Lahm are on the 55-man shortlist revealed by the players’ association FIFPro, who give out this award in conjunction with football’s world governing body.  

Over 2,500 footballers from over 75 different countries casted their votes, choosing a goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and a striker. The players with the most votes in each position will receive one of the prestigious places in the World XI.

The result will be announced on 23 October during The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London, where the world player of the year and the world coach of the year will also be crowned. In the last four years, Neuer (2013-16), Lahm (2013, 2014), Franck Ribéry (2013), Toni Kroos and Arjen Robben (both 2014) have made it into the World XI.

Related news