Müller's first hat-trick and Rafinha's record

Read article contents
Increase size

Another debut meeting, another fourth-tier opponent: this year’s cup draw has a sense of deja-vu for FC Bayern. Following the 1-0 win over SV Drochtersen/Assel in the first round, the record cup winners face another Regionalliga team for the first time in the form of SV Rödinghausen. fcbayern.com has rounded up all the important facts and stats on the cup clash:

Bayern familiar with alternative venue

SV Rödinghausen have moved around 30 kilometres from their home stadium to the Stadion an der Bremer Brücke in Osnabrück for this fixture. It’s a stadium where Bayern have had a few positive experiences in the past. In August 2013, the Reds thrashed BSV Schwarz-Weiß Rehden 5-0 there thanks to goals from Xherdan Shaqiri, Arjen Robben and Thomas Müller’s first cup hat-trick. FCB have also met the actual occupants of the stadium, VfL Osnabrück, on two occasions in the DFB Cup, winning 3-2 in the 2004/05 season and 2-0 in 2001/02 with Niko Kovac in their side.

Almost 10 years since last away defeat

Bayern travel to North Rhine-Westphalia looking to extend their record-breaking run of 27 successive away wins in the DFB Cup. 24 of those victories came in either 90 or 120 minutes, with Bayern requiring penalties on just three occasions. They’ve also scored 87 goals during that run, conceding 12. The Reds’ last defeat away from home in the competition was in March 2009, when coach Jurgen Klinsmann’s side lost 4-2 to Bayer 04 Leverkusen at the quarter-final stage.

Rafinha’s record run

Another DFB Cup record belongs to Bayern full-back Rafinha. With the 1-0 win over Drochtersen/Assel in the first round, the Brazilian set a new record of 30 games unbeaten in the competition, beating the previous best of 29 set by Norbert Nachtweih between 1980 and 1986. Rafinha’s last defeat in the DFB Cup was also in March 2009, when he lost 1-0 at Mainz with Schalke 04.

Müller and Lewandowski on verge of top 10

Robert Lewandowski and Thomas Müller have each netted 27 goals in the DFB Cup during their careers, putting them level with their former boss Jupp Heynckes in 12th place in the all-time top goalscorers in the competition. The duo are just one goal away from 10th position, which is currently shared by Dieter Hoeneß and Erwin Kostedde on 28.

Related news