Record champion Ribéry, Heynckes catches up with Weisweiler

Read article contents
Increase size

2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018! FC Bayern sealed their sixth German championship title in a row on Saturday, an unprecedented streak in German football. fcbayern.com has compiled six facts after the sixpack.

1) Record-extending sixpack

FC Bayern have extended their record, sealing the sixth championship title on the bounce. No other Bundesliga side boasts more than three consecutive titles. Bayern's streak is rare even from an international point of view. In the top five European leagues (Spain, England, Germany, Italy and France) only Olympique Lyon boast a longer run, having won the domestic title seven times from 2002 to 2008. Juventus are likely to seal their seventh championship title in a row this season.

2) Two firsts in Augsburg

For the first time in Bundesliga history the championship was decided on Matchday 29. The championship was decided earlier in only two seasons, both times by FC Bayern: on Matchday 27 of the 2013/14 season and on Matchday 28 of the 2012/13 season. Augsburg was the venue of the championship decider for the first time.

3) New record champion

Franck Ribéry equalled a record on Saturday! The Frenchman now boasts a total of eight German championship titles, drawing equal with Oliver Kahn, Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger and Mehmet Scholl. Ribéry extended his record as non-German Bundesliga player with the most championship titles.

4) Nine times six

Nine Bavarians have celebrated all six championship titles since 2013: Manuel Neuer, Tom Starke, Jérôme Boateng, David Alaba, Rafinha, Javi Martínez, Franck Ribéry, Arjen Robben and Thomas Müller.

5) Debutants

Five Bavarians celebrated their first German championship title: James Rodríguez, Niklas Süle, Sebastian Rudy, Corentin Tolisso and Christian Früchtl will hoist the championship shield for the first time on Matchday 34.

6) Heynckes draws equal with Weisweiler

At 72 years of age (73 at the end of the season) Jupp Heynckes is the oldest coach to seal the championship title in the Bundesliga's history. In 2013 Heynckes had set the old record of 68 years. Heynckes sealed his fourth championship title as coach, drawing equal with Hennes Weisweiler. Only Udo Lattek on eight and Ottmar Hitzfeld on seven titles have clinched the Bundesliga crown more often.

Related news