Anticipation at historic season finale at the Allianz Arena

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern fans have waited for this moment for years: The title decider at the Allianz Arena. Next Saturday, FCB can secure the title for the seventh time in succession by getting a result against Eintracht Frankfurt on the last day of the season. "We're playing in front of our own fans. We'll give 100 per cent and go out to win the game," promised Leon Goretzka after the draw at Leipzig.

"The atmosphere in Munich will definitely be incredible," said Niko Kovac looking forward to the season finale in front of his own support, "the last time it happened was 19 years ago." That was at the end of the 1999/2000 season. Back then, Bayern beat Werder Bremen 3-1 at the Olympic Stadium and the Reds benefited from Leverkusen's defeat at Unterhaching.

The record champions have won eleven of the last twelve league titles on the road. The only exception was in 2014/15. After a 1-0 home win against Hertha Berlin on matchday 30, Bayern were champions the next day "on the sofa" after challengers VfL Wolfsburg lost 1-0 at Gladbach.

Otherwise, title celebrations followed the legendary last-minute win at Hamburg (2001), three times at Wolfsburg (2003, 2008 and 2017), and twice each at FC Kaiserslautern (2005 and 2006) and at Hertha Berlin (2010 and 2014). In the treble season of 2013, the title was won at Eintracht Frankfurt, in 2016 Bayern celebrated on the penultimate matchday at FC Ingolstadt and last year the corks were popped at Augsburg.

This time the crucial points are to be had at the Allianz Arena and it will be the first time since the stadium opened in 2005. Players, fans and management can hardly wait and they want to achieve the target together. "We want to win at home so that we'll definitely be champions," said chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

Bayern league titles since 2000


2000/0134Hamburg SV (1-1)
2002/0330VfL Wolfsburg (2-0)
2004/0531FC Kaiserslautern (4-0)
2005/0633FC Kaiserslautern (1-1)
2007/0831VfL Wolfsburg (0-0)
2009/1034Hertha BSC (3-1)
2012/1328Eintracht Frankfurt (1-0)
2013/1427Hertha BSC (3-1)
2014/1530Without playing, due to results elsewhere
2015/1633FC Ingolstadt (2-1)
2016/1731VfL Wolfsburg (6-0)
2017/1829FC Augsburg (4-1)


Related news