Records for Ribéry and Lewandowski

Read article contents
Increase size

On Saturday Franck Ribéry won the 24th title in his time at FC Bayern. No player in the club's history has collected more trophies. Besides, the Frenchman contested his eighth DFB Cup final, more than any other player. Ribéry left the pitch as winner six times, as often as Philipp Lahm, Oliver Kahn and Claudio Pizarro did. Only Bastian Schweinsteiger boasts more DFB Cup triumphs.

Record for Lewandowski

Robert Lewandowski set Bayern on their way to victory against Leipzig with his brilliant header before the half-hour, and he put the game to bed when he scored Bayern's third goal. The Poland captain set a new record on Saturday. He has scored six goals in DFB Cup finals, more than any other player. Gerd Müller and Uwe Seeler boast four goals. Lewandowski has scored seven goals in the competition this season, finishing DFB Cup top scorer for the third time in a row, another record. Lewandowski now has 33 cup goals under his belt, lying eighth in the all-time rankings after surpassing Claudio Pizarro.

Milestone for Müller

The final against Leipzig was special for Thomas Müller before a ball was kicked on Saturday. The 29-year-old made his 50th appearance in the competition. Müller has contested a total of seven DFB Cup matches, winning five of them.

Related news